The Poppies Are In The Field – But don’t ask me what that means!

From Kilimanjaro – the brilliant first album from The Teardrop Explodes – obviously!

But don’t ask me what that means!
The parachutes in my bag
I’m throwing it over to you
The parachutes in your hands
But don’t ask me what to do

The poppies are in the field
But don’t ask me what that means
The poppies are in the field
But don’t ask me what that means

I wait around
I wait around

I see a change in you
Can you see a change in me
But I can’t explain at all
I can’t explain what I feel

Comics insult you said
But comics are all I read
Comics insult you said
But comics are all I read

I wait around
I wait around
I wait around
I wait around
Wait around

I see a change in you
Can you see a change in me
But I can’t explain at all
I can’t explain what I feel

The poppies are in the field
But don’t ask me what that means
The poppies are in the field
But don’t ask me what that means

I wait around
I wait around
Wait around

From Wikipedia –

Poppies have long been used as a symbol of both sleep, peace and death: sleep because of the opium extracted from them, and death because of the common blood-red color of the red poppy in particular. In Greek and Roman myths, poppies were used as offerings to the dead. Poppies used as emblems on tombstones symbolize eternal sleep. This symbolism was evoked in the children’s novel The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, in which a magical poppy field threatened to make the protagonists sleep forever.
A second interpretation of poppies in Classical mythology is that the bright scarlet colour signifies a promise of resurrection after death.
The poppy of wartime remembrance is Papaver rhoeas, the red-flowered corn poppy. This poppy is a common weed in Europe and is found in many locations, including Flanders, the setting of the famous poem “In Flanders Fields,” by the Canadian surgeon and soldier John McCrae.

This entry was posted in Country Pursuits, Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Poppies Are In The Field – But don’t ask me what that means!

  1. is it real or is it treason ?

Leave a Reply

